loader
Albatross
Solar powered around-the-world flight

ROTEC and TEEMP technologies, bold engineering solutions and intention for a new will allow us to make the first non-stop solar powered around-the-world flight.

Create an aircraft with an electric propulsion system and solar modules as power source. Successful implementation of the project will stimulate the development of a new kind of aviation, based on electric powertrain. We plan to commercialize project`s IP and technologies.
  • Concept

    Create an aircraft with an electric propulsion system and solar modules as power source. Successful implementation of the project will stimulate the development of a new kind of aviation, based on electric powertrain. We plan to commercialize project`s IP and technologies.

  • Goal

    Our goal is a solar powered non-stop around-the-world flight. Assumed that flight will pass at an altitude of 12-14 km with average speed about 210 km/h. The aircraft will cover 35 thousand km in 150 hours. For this end, we have created the world's first photovoltaics flying lab to test the efficiency of flexible solar modules and energy storage system at various heights and in a variety of conditions.

Technologies:

flying lab
Maximum take-off mass
900 kg
Wingspan
25 m
Wing area
19,95 m2
Peak speed
259 km/h

Solar panels

Flexible solar modules are notable for low weight and high strength, and also are able to capture both direct and reflected sunlight with an efficiency of more than 22%.

Hybrid energy storage system

Supercapacitors protect storage system from low temperatures and increased loads, which allows to use them in aggressive conditions and modes.

Route

  • 21544km

    Flight length. The flight will pass over the territory of Australia, New Zealand, Chile, Argentina, Brazil and South Africa. 80% of the route passes over the waters of the Pacific, Atlantic and Indian oceans.

  • 12km/h

    cruising speed of the aircraft for a record flight. Peak speed is up to 300 km / h

  • 03hours

    will be the duration of the record flight. The cockpit of the record aircraft will be equipped with all necessary life support systems.

Stages

Flying lab

  • Start

    Dec 2017

  • Flights

    Mar 2018

  • Based on the Stemme S12, we created the world's first photovoltaics flying lab. High-altitude tests of flexible heterostructural solar modules will provide us with unique data which is necessary for their aerospace applications. In addition, we will test TEEMP supercapacitors and hybrid energy storage system.

  • The flying laboratory will also become a training vehicle for the pilot of the Albatross project - world-famous traveler Fedor Konyukhov. Fedor will receive Pilot skills, required for a record flight, during training flights in the European part of the country and in the Elbrus region, as well as a long flight to Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky through Novy Urengoy and Yekaterinburg.

CHALLENGES:

To test the efficiency of flexible heterostructural solar modules with direct and reflected sunlight in high-altitude conditions: extreme temperatures, specific radiation spectrum and various pressures.

To work out the technology of application of flexible solar modules to a surface with arbitrary curvature.

Develop a hybrid energy storage system based on TEEMP supercapacitors.

To test developed hybrid energy storage system in various temperatures and pressures.

Aircraft for the record flight

  • Design and construction of the aircraft will be held in 2019. The data received from a flying lab will be taken into account in the design. Airplane roll out and flight tests are planned for 2020.

  • The wingspan of the aircraft will reach ~45 m, and wing area will be about 100 m2. This means the aircraft will have more than 200 m2 of area for solar panels installation (the surface of the fuselage and tail unit are factored in).

CHALLENGES:

To create an electric powertrain based flexible solar panels and hybrid energy storage devices.

To optimize the aerodynamics and surfaces of the aircraft to solar panels placement and installation.

To develop an aircraft that is capable for long and autonomous flights on the energy of sunlight.

Around-the-world flight

  • Flights

    Dec 2020

  • The non-stop around-the-world flight will pass over the territory of Australia, New Zealand, Chile, Argentina, Brazil and South Africa. 80% of the route passes over the waters of the Pacific, Atlantic and Indian oceans. Approximate length of the route will be 35 000 km. The record aircraft will cover this distance for 150 hours with an average speed of 210 km / h.

  • The route is developed by the Fedor Konyukhov`s Expeditionary HQ, which has experience in organizing ocean, sea and air expeditions. The data obtained in previous Fedor Konyukhov`s around-the-world flight of in a hot-air balloon will be factored.

CHALLENGES:

Explore air currents in mountain and coastal areas, as well as at the height of the stratosphere.

To cover 35 000 km without landing, using the energy of sunlight and rising air currents.

Team

Mikhail Lifshits
Fedor Konyukhov

Opportunities

  • Albatross project will stimulate development of solar powered avitation. Hybrid powertrain and its components will form technology basis of the product line of the future.

  • Autonomous aircrafts will replace satellites in a number of industries. They can be used for ocean, forest or agricultural land monitoring.

News

© 2018 Sunstream
Developed by  Uplab

loader
Альбатрос
Вокруг света на энергии солнца

Технологии РОТЕК и ТЭЭМП, смелые инженерные решения и стремление к новому позволят нам совершить первый в истории человечества беспосадочный кругосветный перелёт на энергии солнца.

Создать самолет с электрической силовой установкой и солнечными модулями в качестве источника энергии. Успешная реализация проекта станет стимулом для развития новой авиации, основанной на электрических системах движения. Мы планируем коммерциализировать технологическую базу проекта.
  • Идея

    Создать самолет с электрической силовой установкой и солнечными модулями в качестве источника энергии. Успешная реализация проекта станет стимулом для развития новой авиации, основанной на электрических системах движения. Мы планируем коммерциализировать технологическую базу проекта.

  • Цель

    Наша цель — беспосадочный кругосветный полёт на энергии солнца. Предполагается, что он пройдёт на высоте 12-14 км, по расчетам, средняя скорость составит 210 км/ч. Самолёт преодолеет 35 тысяч км за 150 часов. Для этого мы создаём первую в мире летающую лабораторию в области фотовольтаики, испытаем эффективность работы гибких солнечных модулей и системы накопления энергии на различных высотах и в разнообразных климатических условиях.

Технологии:

летающая лаборатория
Максимальная взлетная масса
900 кг
Размах крыльев
25 м
Площадь крыльев
19,95 м2
Макс. скорость
259 км/ч

Солнечные панели

Гибкие солнечные модули обладают низким весом и большой прочностью, способны улавливать прямой и отраженный солнечный свет с КПД более 22%.

Гибридные накопители

Суперконденсаторы предохраняют накопитель от низких температур и повышенных нагрузок, что позволяет использовать его в агрессивных условиях и режимах.

Маршрут

  • 21544км

    протяженность полета. Он пройдёт над территорией Австралии, Новой Зеландии, Чили, Аргентины, Бразилии и ЮАР. 80% пройдёт над акваториями Тихого, Атлантического и Индийского океанов.

  • 12км/ч

    крейсерская скорость самолёта для рекордного полёта. Максимальная скорость — до 300 км/ч

  • 03часов

    займёт рекордный полёт. Кабина рекордного самолёта будет оборудована необходимыми системами жизнеобеспечения.

Этапы

Летающая лаборатория

  • Старт

    Дек 2017

  • Полет

    Мар 2018

  • Мы создали первую в мире летающую лабораторию в области фотовольтаики. Высотные испытания гибких гетероструктурных солнечных модулей дадут уникальные данные, необходимые для их использования как в рекордном самолёте, так и в серийных летательных аппаратах. Кроме того, на базе летающей лаборатории мы испытаем гибридные накопители энергии на базе суперконденсаторов ТЭЭМП. Летающая лаборатория построена на базе самолёта Stemme S12.

  • Летающая лаборатория станет тренажером для пилота проекта — всемирно известного путешественника Фёдора Конюхова. Пилотажные навыки, необходимые для рекордного полёта, Фёдор получит в ходе тренировочных полётов в европейской части страны и в Приэльбрусье, а также длительного перелёта в Петропавловск-Камчатский через Новый Уренгой и Екатеринбург.

Задачи:

Испытать эффективность гибких гетероструктурных модулей при работе с прямым и отраженным солнечным светом в высотных условиях: при экстремальных погодных режимах, специфическом спектре излучения и различных давлениях.

Отработать технологию нанесения гибких модулей на поверхности с произвольной кривизной.

Разработать бортовую систему накопления энергии на основе гибридных источников тока с суперконденсаторными модулями «ТЭЭМП».

Провести тестирование системы накопления энергии в различных температурах и давлениях.

Самолет для рекордного перелета

  • Основные работы по проектированию и строительству летательного аппарата придутся на 2019 год. Они будут учитывать данные, которые мы получим в ходе полётов на летающей лаборатории. Выкатка самолёта и лётные испытания запланированы на 2020 год.

  • Размах крыльев самолёта достигнет ~45м, а их площадь ~100 м2, что даст больше 200 м2 для установки солнечных панелей с учетом поверхности фюзеляжа и хвостового оперения.

Задачи:

Создать электрический силовой агрегат с источником тока на основе гибких солнечных панелей и гибридных накопителей энергии.

Оптимизировать аэродинамику летательного аппарата с учётом размещения солнечных панелей на его внешних поверхностях.

Разработать воздушное судно, приспособленное к длительным и автономным перелётам на энергии солнечного света.

Кругосветный перелет

  • Полет

    Дек 2020

  • Беспосадочный полет пройдет над территорией Австралии, Новой Зеландии, Чили, Аргентины, Бразилии и ЮАР. 80% полета пройдет над акваториями Тихого, Атлантического и Индийского океанов. Ориентировочная длина маршрута составит 35 тысяч км. Рекордный самолёт преодолеет его за 150 часов со средней скоростью 210 км/ч.

  • Маршрут разрабатывает Экспедиционный штаб Федора Конюхова, который имеет опыт организации трансокеанских, морских и воздушных экспедиций. При разработке маршрута используются данные, полученные в предыдущем кругосветном перелете Федора Конюхова на воздушном шаре.

Задачи:

Исследовать воздушные потоки в горных и прибрежных районах, а также на уровне стратосферы.

Преодолеть 35 тысяч км без посадки, используя энергию солнечного света и восходящие воздушные потоки.

Команда

Михаил Лифшиц
Федор Конюхов

Возможности

  • Успех проекта поднимет престиж страны и стимулирует развитие бестопливной авиации. Hybrid powertrain и его компоненты станут основой линейки продуктов будущего.

  • Автономные летательные аппараты заменят спутники в ряде отраслей, их можно будет использовать для мониторинга поверхностей океанов, лесов и земель сельского хозяйства.